Life is a rollercoaster (Thank you Ronan Keating for the title)

Some of you readers have asked me about the job interview I had on Thursday and quite frankly, I must say that I am happy. I spent 2 hours talking to the Vice President and one of the founders and left with a very good impression about the company (I won’t go public with the name just yet) and all the other “bits and bobs” that need to be there in order for things to feel right.

I also enjoyed a lunch and good chat with ex. colleague and friend Mats who has also found himself a new endeavor that he seems satisfied with (and so has his girlfriend Anna). The evening was spent with the usual “mens club” (Sauna and chatting) and acted as the “cherry on the cake” to an already good day.

Friday however was to be somewhat of a disaster in terms of my flying. After a few hours of sleep I headed north to Sundbro where I met Anders who was busy planning is cross country flight to the central regions of our country. At this point I also discovered the first disaster of the day, no coffee cups for the machine!!!! Noticed that SE-IBX wasn’t going to be used and changed aircraft from SE-KUZ, disaster number 2! Pre-flight check was done extra thoroughly as there is a slight propeller paranoia at the club now (better safe than sorry). Taxied Ms. IBX to the fueling station and filled up 98L of 100LL.

Rolled out to runway 03 and contacted Uppsala tower who gladly let us play around Sundbro. Started off with a mediocre traffic pattern and  continued around and around in a pattern that in my eyes was the crappiest I’ve done since my first flight coming in too high, too fast, too left, too right etc. Nevertheless I survived and returned to base after one hour for a coke and Snickers. The next lesson was if possible worse than the first one with the rudders (and pilot) feeling heavy. It felt so crappy that I asked for a full stop landing and to stay on terra firma and despite my instructors (as always) encouraging words, I left Sundbro not feeling happy about my efforts that day. Drove home and made dinner with grandma before heading to bed.

Saturday morning started at 0400 as I had promised to drive “Leif the Neighbor downstairs” and Tiina to Arlanda for their flight to Romania. Back in bed one hour later with a cup of coffee and the morning paper before heading off to “Baywatch” for the calmest day I think I’ve had since I started (the two last hours excepted).

3 Responses to Life is a rollercoaster (Thank you Ronan Keating for the title)

  1. anders says:

    I guess I’ll have to provide you with a cheer-up tape with some Wham, AHA and Milli Vanilli for when you’re in the cockpit. Have you done any deeper analysis on what went wrong (apart from you being in the wrong plane… (you and KUZ were made for each-other))? Mindset? Absent minded? Just wrong time of the month?

    Valvet for coffee and studies next week?

  2. PC says:

    I’m up for coffee any day 🙂

  3. anders says:

    Valvet! 18.00.

Leave a Reply

